Avoiding the mud, sweat and (thrown) beers of the real Glastonbury, I had my own celebration of rock and roll from the comfort of my living room. One act I really didn’t want to miss was Bryan Ferry, so I made my way to the front row aka my sofa to listen to Roxy Music classics like Love Is The Drug, Avalon and More Than This.

The first thing I thought when Mr Ferry took to the stage was: the man’s still got it. The second thing was that he was wearing an amazing satin, patterned smoking jacket and undone bowtie, proving that his sartorial style just gets better and better.

bferryglasto

This prompted me to recall some of Bryan’s most iconic looks, from his spangled get-ups during Roxy’s glam rock beginnings to his impeccably-cut suits of recent years.

What set Roxy apart – other than their early adoption of synthesisers and intriguing lyrics – was their style, in particular the panache of their lead singer.

Here’s Bryan in 1972 performing Roxy’s hit Virginia Plain on Top of the Pops, complete with heavy eye make-up. This sort of look was soon toned down to a more sophisticated mode, but was no less notable.
roxyplain
 

From the cover shoot of the single Smoke Gets in Your Eyes, Bryan’s three-piece suit is exquisite. With his perfectly-coiffured bouffant, he recalls a raven-haired Christopher Walken.
Bryan-Ferry
 

In this clip from The Old Grey Whistle Test in 1973, he dons a similar suit. His marionette-like spasmodic moves are almost hypnotising. Prog-rock touting presenter Bob Harris hated acts like Roxy and the New York Dolls, referring to them as ‘mock rock’, which makes this even more brilliant.

 

A very suave look from the cover of Another Time, Another Place (1974), wearing a white tux and obligatory cigarette. I love the light and mood of this photograph.

ferry

 

Even in more casual attire, the man can do no wrong.
ferrypic

 

On the cover of French GQ in May 2011, looking like the coolest grandad ever.
ferrygq

 

On a side note, if there is ever a biopic made on Bryan’s life, I reckon he should be played by Christian Bale.

Since Dolly Parton was such a massive hit at Glasto, you may wish to read a piece I penned on the country music legend last year.

