On Friday night, The Rocky Horror Picture Show was on television, and, having not seen it in years, I decided to sit down and enjoy its campy trashy brilliance. My boyfriend had never seen it before, and asked if I knew where Dr. Frank-N-Furter’s abode was (the ‘Frankenstein Place’). Other than, ‘somewhere in Europe’, I had no idea. So, after a quick Google, I found out it is in the very county in which we are currently residing.

We decided to stop by on Saturday, glad to see that there were no motorbike gangs following us, and that our car didn’t break down on the way. The sun was shining so that was a good omen.

The doctor’s stately home was less spooky during the day, but still quite an ominous gothic creation, with many pillars ascending from the roof, and gargoyles protecting every corner.

The Frankenstein Place’s real name is Oakley Court and it was built in 1859. Oakley has also been the setting for a few Hammer films, including The Reptile (1966) and The Brides of Dracula (1962). It sits next to Bray Studios, making it the obvious choice for a demented screen doctor.

 
In my opinion, the best song in Rocky Horror is ‘Hot Patootie – Bless My Soul’, sung by Meat Loaf. I’m also partial to the opening song, ‘Science Fiction’.

Oakley Court is now a country hotel, with additional buildings tacked on at the back. The estate is fairly large (35 acres), and overlooks the Thames near Windsor, if you fancy staying the night.

