Today was the first day in a long time that the rain stayed away for the entire day. I was able to leave the house without a jacket and took a relaxing walk down by the Thames, close to where I live in Berkshire.

Green leaves had appeared on the branches of the oaks and the willows, and the river was abundant with wildlife; swans, ducks and geese were enjoying the water, and many of them stopped to say hello. I’m looking forward to seeing their cygnets, ducklings and goslings soon too.

I recently spotted two Rose-ringed Parakeets on the tree outside my window but sadly they left before I could photograph them.

Last summer I encountered a dragonfly in the house, which was a new experience for me. It was around the size of a large butterfly, and had an iridescent petrol-like sheen, which was visible in its languid movements. These are creatures I have only seen in nature documentaries and books so hopefully I will get another chance to photograph them both this year, as well as any other interesting animals who choose to visit my garden.

Fingers crossed for a good summer.

