Recently I visited Torquay and Sidmouth in Devon. I was missing the coast badly but I think I got my fix.

Torquay is part of the English Riviera, and is probably best known as the setting for the sitcom Fawlty Towers and as the birthplace of Agatha Christie. It has a mild climate compared to much of the UK – palm trees are able to flourish here.

The coastline in Sidmouth is known as the Jurassic Coast (145-200 million years old) and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, covering 95 miles. (It also covers Triassic (200-250 million years) and Cretaceous (65 – 145 million years)). It is like nowhere else I have visited and is a truly amazing sight.

Whilst in Sidmouth I visited a donkey sanctuary and had a really nice day there. It was lovely to see the donkeys being cared for, especially after many of them had endured suffering. It is a very worthwhile charity (I have linked below), which also partners with the Elisabeth Svendsen Trust (founder of the sanctuary), to provide donkey-assisted therapy for disabled children.

I also visited a museum in Devon, which I will detail later this week.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

http://jurassiccoast.org/

http://www.thedonkeysancuary.org.uk

