During my recent house move I uncovered a host of items that have been in the family for years, yet I realised I knew nothing about them. After many questions to family members and some internet research, I have found out a little more about these objects. I hope you find them interesting.

20130825_130020_1
This child’s tea set belonged to my late maternal grandmother and I believe it is from the 1930s, although it could be slightly earlier as it’s not dated. I’m not sure how many pieces were in the original set but I have two cups and saucers, a teapot and a sugar bowl. The blue and white porcelain is marked ‘Real Staffordshire Willow HA & Co Ltd’, Staffordshire being at the forefront of British pottery for centuries.

The county of Staffordshire is naturally rich in clay, lead and coal, and is the home of Wedgwood, Moorcroft and Royal Doulton. It is said that the term ‘potholes’ (those annoying divots in the road) was coined after potters in the area dug up the roads in search of clay.

20130825_125431
A silver cross, which I imagine was worn on a pendant, from the 1960s. It seems fairly standard but what looks like a gemstone in the centre of the cross is in fact a magnifying glass. When you hold it up to the light you can read the Lord’s Prayer, printed on a minute piece of parchment. I don’t think that this type of cross is unique, but I had never heard of it before.

20130825_125821
20130825_125804
I have been using this bottle opener for years but had given little thought to where it came from. Apparently it belongs to my Dad and was purchased in Greece in the 1970s. As you can see it is double-sided, with an owl on one side and a sort of peacock/floral design on the other. I think it’s rather fetching.

20130823_194811
Another curio from abroad. This small dish was purchased in the 1970s from either Spain or Portugal – a gift from my great aunt to her sister (my late grandmother). I really like the material and the effect it gives to the outside of the bowl. I’m less enamoured by the fish pattern but find the blue colour quite striking. I use it to store small items in my bathroom, such as kirby grips (or bobby pins if you’re American).

20130825_125610
The last item I have to show you is the most modern – from the early 2000s. My younger brother fashioned this stained glass wall hanging in art class at high school, but I think you could potentially wear it as a necklace as it’s quite small. It appears to be deco inspired and I love the black and blue colours together. I am really keen on stained glass as an art form, especially that of Tiffany and Chagall.

If anyone knows more about any of the first four items or has their own collection to share then I’d love to hear from you.

