I started visiting charity shops in my late teens, mostly to browse for books. Whilst charity shops are great places to pick up books on the cheap, I found that the bric-a-brac became the biggest personal draw.
Since I moved to the south of England, I haven’t yet checked out the charity shops in London, though I might have to soon.

Charity shops can be great places to find interesting things. Here I will show you some of my favourite finds.

20130823_193853
This creepy looking green cat was purchased from a charity shop for £1.50 and I am very fond of him. I don’t know anything about him (nothing printed on the bottom) but he was definitely well looked after. He currently resides on my coffee table.

20130828_153324
I bought this orange glass tea light holder also for the princely sum of £1.50. I liked the shape and the colour, which is quite a deco orange, and candle holders are always useful.

20130823_193917
Another candle holder, but in a very different style. I like everything about this – the way the top appears to be melting, the colour of the metals, the cut out hearts, which flicker on the walls when a lit candle is placed inside. I’m not sure what I paid for this but it can’t have been more than £2.

What’s the best thing you’ve ever found in a charity shop?

