The following collection is a series of art cards depicting dreams, be it personal longings, aspirations from another era, or images with an otherworldly or ethereal quality.

20130902_135708
{Design by Maurice Beck. Purchased from Alba, Oban}

A very deco card, showing a poster for the Flying Scotsman’s Cocktail Bar through the 20s and 30s. This is such a great image – dark and mysterious, and I love the design and typography. I reckon this ad would have worked on me.

20130902_135720
{Photographer unknown. Purchased at M&S}

Driving Route 66 – and the Pacific Coast Highway – is on my bucket list. I am very drawn to the American road trip ideal (perhaps not the Hunter S. Thompson version): stopping at diners, random roadside attractions and seeing the ‘real’ America.

20130902_135749
{Angi Sullins and Silas Toball. Purchased from Nirvana, South Ayrshire}

I find this image rather mystical, spiritual even. I am enamoured with the moon and could stare at it for hours.

I wonder what the cat is wishing for…

20130902_131534
The accompanying envelope; it’s lovely when the envelope is just as beautiful as the card.

20130902_135646
{Design by Flora McLachlan. Purchased at The Art Shop}

A ghostly fox in a shadowy forest, this brooding and atmospheric drawing is entitled ‘Moon Wood’.

20130902_131337
{Photographer – Arthur George. Purchased from Waterstones}

One of my favourites – a photograph of Dreamland Cinema in Margate, built in 1935 by architects Iles Leathart & Grange.

Dreamland opened in 1921 and was an homage to American amusement parks such as Coney Island in Brooklyn. It spanned 16 acres and featured a zoo, miniature railway, and a 2000-capacity ballroom.

In more recent years Dreamland has not fared well, and a campaign called Save Dreamland was set up in 2003. The Dreamland Trust hopes to restore the interior of the cinema in the near future.

http://www.dreamlandmargate.com

20130902_135734
{Photograph by Paula Saving}

I can’t see how anyone could fail to be moved by a New York fairy tale winter scene, especially one in black and white (and green glitter on the trees). This card was part of a pack of Christmas cards I gave out a couple of years ago but I kept one as I liked them so much. It was a wish of mine for a long time to visit New York City, and it finally came true in April of this year. I had an amazing time and would go back in a second.

