20130717_171702
Isn’t this tin sweet? I have owned this innocuous little thing since early childhood, although I’m not sure who gifted it to me. I have also owned its contents since early childhood; I started filling this tin at age six, and continued to collect its insides for the next ten years.

I have 20 of these tiny items, probably more than most people, who perhaps have just one, or even none at all…although everyone has owned them at some point.

These small, jaggy, milky things were literally part of me, and I have a strange fondness for them.

20130717_171838

A few years ago I thought about donating my teeth to an art project but decided I couldn’t part with them. I haven’t decided what to do with them yet, whether I’ll string them or let them rattle in this metal box forever more. Whilst this collection is innately important to me, I certainly have no intentions of adding to it.

Collections are sentimental and personal. In this case a collection cannot be described as anything else.

Notes: Tooth Fairy Palace http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-16009883

