Since I missed out on the new Met exhibit – PUNK: Chaos to Couture – when I was in New York recently, I thought I’d post a short article about all things punk.

The PUNK showcase at the Met has been criticised for failing to include enough original items from the 1970s, favouring the couture offerings from designers such as Alexander McQueen, Prada and Dolce and Gabbana.

So here is an original 1970s Vivienne Westwood-designed garment belonging to my mother’s partner. It has sadly lost its sleeves through too much wear back in the day, but it’s a piece of rock and roll history none the less.

vw

And another…

godsaves

I also thought I’d share my favourite punk and punk rock albums, as well as some picture books and films.

In no particular order, albums I love:
-Ramones – Rocket to Russia (1977)
-The Heartbreakers – L.A.M.F. (Like a Mother F****r) (1977)
-The Misfits – Static Age (1997 – recorded 1978)
-The Damned – Damned Damned Damned (1977)
-Sex Pistols – Never Mind the Bollocks (1977)

Picture Books:
Vivienne Westwood by Claire Wilcox
New York Dolls Photographs by Bob Gruen
CBGB and OMFUG: Thirty Years from the Home of Underground Rock, introduced by Hilly Kristal

20130512_141411

Films:
Jubilee, 1978
Smithereens, 1982
Sid and Nancy, 1986

